Reading the Bible with Josiah – beautiful and bonkers!

I staggered downstairs this morning in my usual early bird condition (shattered, bleary-eyed and slurring words) and sat on the sofa with my usual cup of strong coffee to help me come out of the coma. I can’t have been sat there for more than 20 seconds when Josiah came over with his Kidz Bible and asked if he could read it to me. Josiah loves his Bible and loves to tell us what he’s been reading and to ask us questions about what he’s read, but this was the first time he’d ever asked if he could come and read it to me. As you might expect I was buzzin that he’d want to do that and told him it’d be lush to hear him read. Now Josiah is 5 but his reading age is way more advanced than that – he’s ridiculously good at it, which his has come about due to possessing a natural intelligence (that he gets from his mum) and a strong desire to read (which I hope he gets from me!) However, he also possesses incredible creativity and a beautifully bonkers sense of humour.

So he cwtched up next to me, found Ruth chapter 4 and started to read. He started so well…but by the end I was in stitches!

Here’s what he read:

“So Boaz took Ruth, and she became his wife. And he went in to her, and the Lord gave her conception, and she bore a son. Then the women said to Naomi, “Blessed be the Lord, who has not left you this day without a redeemer, and may his name be renowned in Israel! He shall be to you a restorer of life and a nourisher of your old age, for your daughter-in-law who loves you, who is more to you than seven sons, has given birth to him.” Then Naomi took the child and laid him on her lap and became his nurse. And the women of the neighborhood gave him a name, saying, “A son has been born to Naomi.” They named him Obed. He was the father of Jesse, the rootin-est, tootin-est cowboy in the wild, wild west!”

I flippin’ love being a dad!

4 thoughts on “Reading the Bible with Josiah – beautiful and bonkers!

Comments are closed.